Home Books Music Films TV Drama Index - links to more great TV dramas



'Enemy At The Door' was an excellent war drama, which ran for two series on ITV in 1978 and 1980.

The series revolved around the German occupation of Guernsey in World War Two, with Alfred Burke playing a kindly German major, and Simon Cadell playing the stereotypical SS man. Anthony Head made his TV debut in this series.

- Paul Rance/

Enemy At The Door DVDs available from - in association with

'Enemy At The Door - Series 1 DVD' Enemy At The Door - Series 1 - Complete ~ Alfred Burke, Simon Cadell
Enemy At The Door - Series 2 - Complete ~ Alfred Burke, Simon Cadell

Enemy At The Door Main Cast List

Alfred Burke as Maj. Richter
Bernard Horsfall as Dr. Philip Martel
Emily Richard as Clare Martel
Simon Cadell as Hauptsturmfuhrer Reinicke
Richard Heffer as Peter Porteous
Simon Lack as Maj. Freidel
John Malcolm as Oberleutnant Kluge
Antonia Pemberton as Olive Martel
Helen Shingler as Helen Porteous
Ken Barker as Driver
Keith Hazemore as German Sentry
Peter Holt as Gefreite
Jason James as German Soldier
Mark Christon as Feldwebel
Pauline Minear as Ruth
Stephen Reed as Soldier
Michael Finbarr as Clerk
Stephen Gordon as SS Man
Richard Hurndall as John Ambrose
Martyn Jacobs as Lt. Willie Kessler
Pam St. Clement as Fat Molly
Norma Streader as Betty Ridge
Gary Waldhorn as Teddy Lupus
Richard Borthwick as Maj. Kirk
Anthony Head as Clive Martel
Tony Scannell as Gefreiter
Peter Williams as Vicar
David Ryall as Capt. Tom Foster-Smythe
Patrick Godfrey as Dr. John Forbes
David Waller as Generalmajor Muller

Enemy At The Door Episode List (with original transmission dates)

Series One - 1978

1. By Order Of The Führer, January 21
2. The Librarian, January 28
3. After The Ball, February 4
4. Steel Hand From The Sea, February 11
5. The Laws And Usages Of War, February 18
6. V For Victory, February 25
7. The Polish Affaire, March 4
8. Officers Of The Law, March 11
9. The Jerrybag, March 18
10. Treason, March 25
11. Pains And Penalties, April 1
12. The Prussian Officer, April 8
13. Judgement Of Solomon, April 15

Series Two - 1980
1. Call Of The Dead, January 5
2. Reception For The General, January 12
3. Angels That Soar Above, January 19
4. No Quarter Given, January 26
5. Committee Man, February 2
6. Post Mortem, February 9
7. The Raid, February 16
8. Jealousy, February 23
9. War Game, March 1
10. The Right Blood, March 8
11. From A View To A Death, March 15
12. The Education Of Nils Borg, March 22
13. Escape, March 29

This website is designed by