Home Books Music Films TV Drama Index - links to more great TV dramas


Leo McKern was Horace Rumpole, the lovable old barrister brought vividly to life from John Mortimer's books.

'Rumpole Of The Bailey' flourished on ITV from 1978 to 1992, though it had initially been a one-off play on BBC1 in 1975. The BBC did, however, broadcast 'Rumpole' on Radio 4 in 1980 and 2003.

- Paul Rance/

Rumpole Of The Bailey Main Cast List

Leo McKern as Horace Rumpole
Peggy Thorpe-Bates, and later Marion Mathie, as Hilda Rumpole
Patricia Hodge as Phillida (Trant) Erskine-Brown
Peter Bowles as Guthrie Featherstone
Julian Curry as Claude Erskine-Brown
Peter Blythe as Samuel Ballard
Richard Murdoch as Uncle Tom
Samantha Bond, and later Abigail McKern, as Liz Probert (Miz Liz)
Moray Watson as George Frobisher
Bill Fraser as Judge Roger 'The Mad Bull' Bullingham
James Grout as Mr. Justice Oliver Oliphaunt

Rumpole Of The Bailey DVDs available from - in association with

'Rumpole Of The Bailey - Series 1-7 DVD' Rumpole Of The Bailey - Series 1-7 - Complete ~ Leo McKern
'Rumpole Of The Bailey - Series 7 DVD' Rumpole Of The Bailey - Series 7 [1978] ~ Leo McKern, Jonathan Coy



This website is designed by