Home Books Music Films TV Biographies:
Basil Rathbone

Basil Rathbone (1892-1967)
South African born, and British educated, Basil Rathbone is cinema's most famous and definitive Sherlock Holmes. So famous, the role probably stunted the rest of his career.

A veteran of World War One, Rathbone began appearing in films in the UK soon after the war's end, and moved to Hollywood in the mid-1920s. It wasn't until he appeared in 'David Copperfield (1935)' that his career took off, and he first played Sherlock Holmes on screen in 1939.

- Paul Rance/

The Mark Of Zorro - Film Review

Basil Rathbone DVDs available from - in association with and

Classic Frankenstein Triple - Frankenstein/Bride Of Frankenstein/House Of Frankenstein [DVD] ~ Basil Rathbone, Bela Lugosi
The Adventures Of Ichabod And Mr Toad [1949] [DVD] ~ Bing Crosby, Basil Rathbone
The Complete Sherlock Holmes Collection ~ Basil Rathbone
The Mark of Zorro (Special Edition) (Colorized / Black and White)


Basil Rathbone Filmography
(most recent films listed first)

The Great Mouse Detective (voice) (1986)
Autopsia de un fantasma (1968)
Hillbillys In A Haunted House (1967)
The Ghost In The Invisible Bikini (1966)
Queen Of Blood (1966)
Voyage To The Prehistoric Planet (1965)
The Comedy Of Terrors (1964)
Two Before Zero (narrator) (1962)
Tales Of Terror (1962)
The Magic Sword (1962)
Ponzio Pilato (1962)
Mystic Prophecies And Nostradamus (narrator) (1961)
The Black Cat (voice) (1961)
The Last Hurrah (1958)
The Black Sleep (1956)
The Court Jester (1956)
We're No Angels (1955)
Casanova's Big Night (1954)
The Adventures Of Ichabod And Mr. Toad (voice/narrator) (1949)
The Wind In The Willows (narrator) (1949)
Dressed To Kill (1946)
Heartbeat (1946)
Terror By Night (1946)
Pursuit To Algiers (1945)
The Woman In Green (1945)
Sherlock Holmes And The House Of Fear (1945)
Frenchman's Creek (1944)
The Pearl Of Death (1944)
Bathing Beauty (1944)
The Scarlet Claw (1944)
The Spider Woman (1944)
Crazy House (1943)
Sherlock Holmes Faces Death (1943)
Above Suspicion (1943)
Sherlock Holmes In Washington (1943)
Sherlock Holmes And The Secret Weapon (1943)
Sherlock Holmes And The Voice Of Terror (1942)
Crossroads (1942)
Fingers At The Window (1942)
Paris Calling (1941)
International Lady (1941)
The Black Cat (1941)
The Mad Doctor (1941)
The Mark Of Zorro (1940)
Rhythm On The River (1940)
Tower Of London (1939)
Rio (1939)
The Adventures Of Sherlock Holmes (1939)
The Sun Never Sets (1939)
The Hound Of The Baskervilles (1939)
Son Of Frankenstein (1939)
The Dawn Patrol (1938)
If I Were King (1938)
The Adventures Of Robin Hood (1938)
The Adventures Of Marco Polo (1938)
Tovarich (1937)
Make A Wish (1937)
Confession (1937)
Love From A Stranger (1937)
The Garden Of Allah (1936)
Romeo And Juliet (1936)
Private Number (1936)
A Tale Of Two Cities (1935)
Captain Blood (1935)
Kind Lady (1935)
A Feather In Her Hat (1935)
The Last Days Of Pompeii (1935)
Anna Karenina (1935)
The Personal History, Adventures, Experience, And Observation Of David Copperfield, The Younger (1935)
Loyalties (1933)
One Precious Year (1933)
After The Ball (1932)
A Woman Commands (1932)
Sin Takes A Holiday (1930)
A Lady Surrenders (1930)
The Lady Of Scandal (1930)
The Flirting Widow (1930)
A Notorious Affair (1930)
This Mad World (1930)
The Bishop Murder Case (1930)
The Last Of Mrs. Cheyney (1929)
The Great Deception (1926)
The Masked Bride (1925)
Trouping With Ellen (1924)
The School For Scandal (1923/II)
Innocent (1921)
The Fruitful Vine (1921)









This website is designed by