Home Books Music Films TV & Freedom Press Classic Film Reviews



Amazon DVDs of the film

Cry Freedom [DVD] [1987]
Cry Freedom [DVD] [1987]
~ Denzel Washington, Kevin Kline
Cry Freedom
~ Denzel Washington

Beautifully directed by Richard Attenborough, 'Cry Freedom' is a biopic about the life of courageous, determined South African journalist Donald Woods.

Woods investigates the death of friend and legendary anti-apartheid activist Steve Biko - and pays the price, ending up having to flee his home country.

Denzel Washington was Oscar-nominated for his role as Biko, but a fine cast included Kevin Kline as Woods, Penelope Wilton, Alec McCowen, and Kevin McNally. Stunning Oscar-nominated music from George Fenton and Jonas Gwangwa.

- Paul Rance/

The Angry Silence Babe Bambi The Birds The Blue Max Casablanca Coming Home Cry Freedom The Defiant Ones Double Indemnity The Elephant Man Escape From Alcatraz Falling Down Gladiator Goldfinger Hell Drivers The Italian Job King Kong Legally Blonde 2 The Mark Of Zorro The Matrix Midnight Cowboy Moulin Rouge On The Waterfront Paths Of Glory Planet Of The Apes Psycho The Rebel Shark Tale Silent Running Sleeper Spartacus Spider-Man 2 Stuart Little Theatre Of Blood The Third Man The Vikings The War Of The Worlds Watership Down West Side Story When The Wind Blows Where Eagles Dare The Wicker Man Yellow Submarine You've Got Mail Zulu

Cry Freedom Cast List
Kevin Kline as Donald Woods
Kevin McNally as Ken
Albert Ndinda as Alec
Andrew Whaley as Sub-Editor
Shelley Borkum as Woods' receptionist
Denzel Washington as Steve Biko
Penelope Wilton as Wendy Woods
Kate Hardie as Jane Woods
Graeme Taylor as Dillon Woods
Adam Stuart Walker as Duncan Woods
Hamish Stuart Walker as Gavin Woods
Spring Stuart Walker as Mary Woods
Josette Simon as Dr. Ramphele
Wabei Siyolwe as Tenjy
John Matshikiza as Mapetla
Juanita Waterman as Ntsiki Biko
Evelyn Sithole as Nurse at clinic
Xoliswa Sithole as Nurse at clinic
James Coine as Young boy
Sophie Mgcina as Evalina
Jim Findley as Peter Jones
Patricia Gumede as Shebeen Queen
Angela Gavaza as Shebeen Queen's niece
Nocebo Mlambo as Aunt
Walter Matemavi as Nephew
Clement Muchachi as Father
Ruth Chinamando as Mother
Basil Chidyamathamba as Brother-in-law
Marcy Mushore as Niece
Alton Kumalo as Speaker
Lawrence Simbarashe as Informer
Timothy West as Captain De Wet
Carl Chase as Policeman
William Morgan Sheppard as Policeman (as Morgan Sheppard)
Tichatonga Mazhindu as Dilima
Zakes Mokae as Father Kani
John Thaw as Kruger
Miles Anderson as Lemick
Neil McPherson as Lemick's assistant
Hepburn Graham as Soga
Claude Maredza as 1st Rugby player
Carlton Chance as 2nd Rugby player
Glen Murphy as 1st Secuity guard
Russell Keith Grant as 2nd Security guard
Munyaradzi Kanaventi as Samora Biko
George Lovell as Nkosinathi Biko
Andrew McCulloch as Policeman Nel
Graham Fletcher-Cook as Nel's partner (as Graham Fletcher Cook)
Karen Drury as Young secretary
Niven Boyd as 1st Roadblock policeman
Tony Vogel as 2nd Roadblock policeman
Christopher Hurst as 3rd Roadblock policeman
Gerald Sim as Police doctor
Peter Cartwright as Senior police officer
Gary Whelan as Police sergeant
Dudley Dickin as Nationalist Party delegate
David Trevena as Mortician
Badi Uzzaman as Mortician's assistant
Robert Phillips as Speaker at funeral
Fishoo Tembo as Biko's brother
Peggy Marsh as Helen Suzman
Gwyneth Strong as Girl at funeral
Julian Glover as Don Card
John Hargreaves as Bruce
Philip Bretherton as Major Boshoff
Paul Herzberg as Beukes
Robert MacNamara as Security policeman
Hans Sittig as Security policeman
Kimpton Mativenga as Black security policeman
David Henry as Afrikaner farmer
Michael Turner as Judge Boshoff
Ian Richardson as State Prosecutor
Mawa Makondo as Jason
Kalie Hanekom as Magistrate Prins
Paul Jerrico as Sergeant Louw (as Paul Jerricho)
Star Ncube as 1st Prisoner
David Guwaza as 2nd Prisoner
Tommy Buson as Tami
Joseph Marcell as Moses
Hilary Minster as 1st Passport Control officer
James Aubrey as 2nd Passport Control officer
Peter Cary as White frontier policeman
Dominic Kanaventi as Black frontier policeman
Sam Mathambo as Lesotho passport officer
Walter Muparutsa as Lesotho businessman
Judy Cornwell as Receptionist (as Judy Cornwall)
Alec McCowen as Acting High Commissioner
Gwen Watford as Wendy's mother
John Paul as Wendy's stepfather
Louis Mahoney as Lesotho government official
Michael Graham Cox as 3rd Passport Control officer
John Hartley as 4th Passport Control officer
Simon Shumba as Young Lesotho official
Garrick Hagon as McElrea
Nick Tate as Richie
Marilyn Poole as Acting High Commissioner's wife
William Marlowe as Police captain at Soweto

Directed by Richard Attenborough

Richard Attenborough DVDs Denzel Washington DVDs


This website is designed by