Home Books Music Films TV Drama Index - links to more great TV dramas



'Lovejoy' was a BBC drama, which began in 1986, and ended in 1994. Set in East Anglia, the series was gleaned from the novels of Jonathan Gash, with Ian McShane in the title role as the roguish antiques dealer, with Chris Jury (Eric Catchpole) and Dudley Sutton (Tinker Dill) playing his two friends and 'helpers'. Phyllis Logan played the enigmatic Lady Jane Felsham, who was Lovejoy's love interest in the first few series, while Caroline Langrishe became Lovejoy's new object of affection, Charlotte Cavendish, in the final two series.

Guest stars who appeared in 'Lovejoy' included Joanna Lumley, David Ryall, Anthony Valentine, Linda Gray, Burt Kwouk, Brian Blessed, Dinsdale Landen, Larry Lamb, Bill Travers, Simon Ward, Haydn Gwynne, Ronald Fraser and Adrienne Corri.

'Lovejoy' was repeated on the British TV station Yesterday in 2013.

- Paul Rance/

Lovejoy Main Cast List

Ian McShane as Lovejoy
Dudley Sutton as Tinker Dill
Chris Jury as Eric Catchpole
Phyllis Logan as Lady Jane Felsham
Malcolm Tierney as Charlie Gimbert
Caroline Langrishe as Charlotte Cavendish
Diane Parish as Beth Taylor
Pavel Douglas as Lord Alexander Felsham
Maggie Ollerenshaw as Kate Henshaw
Geoffrey Bateman as Dandy Jack
David Arlen as Bill - Cavendish Porter
Denys Graham as Fred Bigelow
Eric Deacon as DI Dennis Hardwick
Jo Ross as Helen
John Scholes as DS Colin Drabble
Jan Wilson as Mrs. Cameron
Joanna Lumley as Victoria Cavero
Gwen Humble as Caterina
Amelia Shankley as Vicky Lovejoy
Gary Waldhorn as DS Bob Pulver
Cassie Stuart as Amanda Gimbert
Albert Welling as Gerry
Anthony Jackson as Brian
Mark Monero as Woody
John Burgess as Popov

Lovejoy: The Complete Collection DVD available from - in association with

Lovejoy The Complete Collection DVD

Just click on the image to buy the DVD.

Lovejoy Episode List

Season 1
1-1 10-Jan-1986 The Firefly Cage
1-2 17-Jan-1986 The Axeman Cometh
1-3 20-Jan-1986 The Sting
1-4 31-Jan-1986 Friends, Romans And Enemies
1-5 07-Feb-1986 The Judas Pair
1-6 14-Feb-1986 To Sleep No More
1-7 21-Feb-1986 The Real Thing
1-8 28-Feb-1986 The March Of Time
1-9 07-Mar-1986 Death And Venice (1)
1-10 14-Mar-1986 Death And Venice (2)
Season 2
2-1 06-Jan-1991 Just Desserts
2-2 13-Jan-1991 The Italian Venus
2-3 20-Jan-1991 Bin Diving
2-4 27-Jan-1991 Montezuma's Revenge
2-5 03-Feb-1991 Who Dares, Sings
2-6 10-Feb-1991 One Born Every Minute
2-7 17-Feb-1991 National Wealth
2-8 24-Feb-1991 Sugar And Spice
2-9 03-Mar-1991 Raise The Hispanic
2-10 10-Mar-1991 Lily's Pearls
2-11 17-Mar-1991 The Black Virgin Of Vladimir *
'Black Virgin Of Vladimir' is a two part episode in which the first part is listed in the opening credits as 'Riding on Rollers'
Season 3
3-1 12-Jan-1992 Friends In High Places
3-2 19-Jan-1992 Out To Lunch
3-3 26-Jan-1992 No Strings
3-4 02-Feb-1992 Angel Trousers
3-5 09-Feb-1992 The Benin Bronze
3-6 16-Feb-1992 Eric Of Arabia
3-7 23-Feb-1992 Scotch On The Rocks
3-8 01-Mar-1992 Loveknots
3-9 08-Mar-1992 Smoke Your Nose
3-10 15-Mar-1992 Kids
3-11 22-Mar-1992 Members Only
3-12 29-Mar-1992 Highland Fling (1)
3-13 05-Apr-1992 Highland Fling (2)
Special S-1 26-Dec-1992 The Prague Sun
Season 4
4-1 10-Jan-1993 The Napoleonic Commode
4-2 17-Jan-1993 The Ring
4-3 24-Jan-1993 Second Fiddle
4-4 31-Jan-1993 The Colour Of Mary
4-5 07-Feb-1993 Fly The Flag
4-6 14-Feb-1993 Judgment Of Solomon
4-7 21-Feb-1993 The Galloping Major
4-8 28-Feb-1993 God Helps Those
4-9 07-Mar-1993 They Call Me Midas
4-10 14-Mar-1993 Irish Stew
4-11 28-Mar-1993 Dainty Dish
4-12 04-Apr-1993 Taking The Pledge
4-13 11-Apr-1993 Lovejoy Loses It
Season 5
5-1 05-Sep-1993 Pig In A Poke
5-2 12-Sep-1993 Who Is The Fairest Of Them All?
5-3 19-Sep-1993 A Going Concern
5-4 26-Sep-1993 The Kakiemon Tiger
5-5 03-Oct-1993 Three Men And A Brittle Lady
5-6 10-Oct-1993 Ducking And Diving
5-7 17-Oct-1993 Stones Of Destiny
5-8 24-Oct-1993 Poetic Licence
5-9 31-Oct-1993 The Peking Gun
5-10 07-Nov-1993 Goose Bumps
5-11 14-Nov-1993 Swings And Roundabouts
5-12 21-Nov-1993 Never Judge A Book By Its Cover
5-13 28-Nov-1993 The Price Of Fish
Special S-2 27-Dec-1993 The Lost Colony
Season 6
6-1 02-Oct-1994 Fair Exchange
6-2 09-Oct-1994 Day Of Reckoning
6-3 16-Oct-1994 Somewhere Over The Rainbow
6-4 23-Oct-1994 Double Edged Sword
6-5 30-Oct-1994 Guns And Roses
6-6 06-Nov-1994 The Last Of The Uzkoks
6-7 13-Nov-1994 Breaking The Broker
6-8 20-Nov-1994 Fruit Of The Dessert
6-9 27-Nov-1994 Holding The Baby
6-10 04-Dec-1994 Last Tango In Lavenham

This website is designed by