Home Books Music Films TV Underground & Indie Music Index

Purge Records Compilations

Gringo (PUR 003)

Pretty impressive CD of "indie" bands and solo artists. Doesn't start off too well, but the second track has a sweetly melodic sound, especially the vocals. Even a touch of flute. Lucies Day Day and "Take It Back" is the number. Watershed with "She's Got a Bed also impress - lovely pop song. "You've Got Love" by The Deep Sea Turtles and "Jungle Love" by Steve Andrews are a couple of stompers. UnKOMNon Sounds shine with a couple of synth-pop songs, "Clearly" and "Prove Me Wrong". The Twilight Experiments Too wind things up with the amusingly gloomy "Every Time". 20 tracks in all, and details of this album and others can be obtained for an SAE/IRC.

- Paul Rance, Peace & Freedom, Vol. 11, No. 1, Spring 1995



This website is designed by

Last Modified: 27 September 2013