Home Books Music Films TV Biographies:
Denzel Washington


Denzel Washington (1954-    )
Denzel Washington is an actor whose movie career has blossomed since starring in '80s American TV series, 'St. Elsewhere', when he played Dr. Philip Chandler.

Born in Mount Vernon, New York City, on December 28th, 1954, Washington is one of the major acting talents of the late 20th and early 21st Century, and in the role of Private Trip won a Best Supporting Actor Oscar for 'Glory (1989)', and then a Best Actor Oscar as Alonzo in 'Training Day (2001)'. He has also portrayed iconic figures of the 20th Century, including Steve Biko in 'Cry Freedom (1987)', and when playing the title role in 'Malcolm X (1992)'. Another strong role for Washington was as lawyer Joe Miller in 'Philadelphia (1993)'. In 2007, Denzel Washington began to direct, and he is already one of the most important black figures in American movie history, with looks to match his talent.

- Paul Rance/

Cry Freedom - Film Review

Denzel Washington DVDs available from - in association with and

Remember The Titans [DVD] [2001] ~ Denzel Washington, Will Patton
Man On Fire [Blu-ray] [2004] ~ Denzel Washington, Dakota Fanning
Man On Fire [Blu-ray] [2004]
~ Denzel Washington, Dakota Fanning
Man On Fire [2004] [DVD]
Inside Man [DVD] [2006] ~ Denzel Washington, Clive Owen
The Pelican Brief [DVD] [1994] ~ Julia Roberts, Denzel Washington
Glory [Blu-ray]
Much Ado About Nothing
Training Day ~ Denzel Washington
The Great Debaters ~ Denzel Washington

Denzel Washington Filmography
(most recent films listed first)

2 Guns (2013)
Flight (2012)
Safe House (2012)
Unstoppable (2010)
The Book Of Eli (2010)
The Taking Of Pelham 1 2 3 (2009)
The Great Debaters (2007)
American Gangster (2007)
Deja Vu (2006)
Inside Man (2006)
The Manchurian Candidate (2004)
Man on Fire (2004)
Out of Time (2003/I)
Antwone Fisher (2002)
John Q (2002)
Training Day (2001)
Remember the Titans (2000)
The Hurricane (1999)
The Bone Collector (1999)
The Siege (1998)
He Got Game (1998)
Fallen (1998)
The Preacher's Wife (1996)
Courage Under Fire (1996)
Devil in a Blue Dress (1995)
Virtuosity (1995)
Crimson Tide (1995)
Philadelphia (1993)
The Pelican Brief (1993)
Much Ado About Nothing (1993)
Malcolm X (1992)
Ricochet (1991)
Mississippi Masala (1991)
Mo' Better Blues (1990)
Heart Condition (1990)
Glory (1989)
The Mighty Quinn (1989)
For Queen and Country (1988)
Cry Freedom (1987)
Power (1986)
A Soldier's Story (1984)
Carbon Copy (1981)







This website is designed by