Home Books Music Films TV Biographies:
Patrick Swayze


Patrick Swayze (1952-2009)
Patrick Swayze made it big time as a movie heart-throb in 'Dirty Dancing (1987)', and 'Ghost (1990)'. Born in Texas, and coming from a dancing family, Swayze endured some tough times in his youth, when training to be a ballet dancer in a macho environment. He also appeared in big stage shows, including 'Chicago' on Broadway, and 'Guys And Dolls' in London.

After becoming ill with pancreatic cancer, the media were writing Patrick Swayze's obituary way before his death actually occurred on September 14th, 2009 in Los Angeles. Born in Houston, Texas, on August 18th, 1952, Patrick Swayze was a gifted sportsman as a young man, but his main focus was to become acting and dance. Swayze was to combine both his acting and dancing talent to good effect throughout his career, and as dance instructor Johnny Castle in 'Dirty Dancing' he broke into the big league. Playing ghost Sam Wheat in 'Ghost' added to his reputation as one of the most beloved movie stars of the late 20th Century.

Patrick Swayze finally succumbed to the disease, aged 57, leaving behind his wife of over 30 years, Lisa Niemi. They had one of the most enduring marriages in the film industry, and Lisa was said to be "inconsolable" a week after Patrick's death.

- Paul Rance/

PATRICK SWAYZE DVDs available from - in association with
Dirty Dancing [1987]
Columbia Tri-Star Home Video
DVD - July 2, 2001
Ghost [1990]
Paramount Home Entertainment (UK)
DVD - December 3, 2001
To Wong Foo, Thanks For Everything Julie Newmar [1995]
Uca Catalogue
DVD - August 18, 2003
PATRICK SWAYZE DVDs available from - in association with

Patrick Swayze Filmography
(most recent films listed first)

George And The Dragon (2004)
Dirty Dancing: Havana Nights (2004)
One Last Dance (2003)
Waking Up In Reno (2002)
Donnie Darko (2001)
Green Dragon (2001)
Forever Lulu (2000)
Letters From A Killer (1998)
Black Dog (1998)
Three Wishes (1995)
To Wong Foo, Thanks For Everything! Julie Newmar (1995)
Tall Tale (1995)
Father Hood (1993)
Amazing Stories: Book Three (1992)
City Of Joy (1992)
Point Break (1991)
Ghost (1990)
Next Of Kin (1989)
Road House (1989)
Tiger Warsaw (1988)
Steel Dawn (1987)
Dirty Dancing (1987)
Youngblood (1986)
Red Dawn (1984)
Grandview, U.S.A. (1984)
Uncommon Valor (1983/I)
The Outsiders (1983)
Skatetown, U.S.A. (1979)







This website is designed by